/

Search our site:

Nr Bolzano, North Italy

SUMMARY

 

 

F125/11. Merano, Nr Bolzano, North Italy. Au-pair needed for 1 child, Arturo aged 4 1/2. Religion: R/C. Dad is a psychotherapist, mum is a beautician. Religion: R/C. Requirements: Ability to Cook/Swimmer/Experience/Excellent English even if not mother tongue/Willing to do Housework. Use of car and internet given. To start 9 th January 2012 for 6 or 12 months. Approx hours of work: 8.00am-9.00am. 4.00pm-8.00pm. Total daily hrs: 5. Time off: 1 1/2 days including evenings another 3 evenings off per week. You are asked to babysit for a maximum of 2 evenings a week. Salary: 200.00 p/w, negotiable (around 167.00 p/w, at the current rate of exchange). Arturo will be 5 in February and he goes to nursery school. He starts at 8.30am (on Friday he starts at 8.00am) and he finishes nursery at 4.00pm (on Wednesday he finishes at 2.30pm). The nursery is located 5 minutes on foot from the family's home. The family live in the city centre. Merano is a small city, in the mountains. Public transport is nearby. The bus stop is 2 minutes away and the train station is 20  minute away on foot from the family's house. You will need to travel with the family, go on holiday with the family and at least 3 times a year stay with Arturo for a whole weekend. Accommodation: large private bedroom with large terrace and private bathroom located on the floor below the family's home so it is totally independent. Of course you can come up when you want to use the kitchen. Duties: take Arturo to nursery and go and pick him up. Eat with him and put him to bed if needed. Help with housework for about 4 hours a week. Tidy up the kitchen after having cooked, if needed do the shopping at the supermarket. Family's interests: travel, seaside, visiting museums, nature. The family usually go on holiday to the beautiful island of Elba where they have a holiday home. The family do not have animals but the husband's parents who live on the first floor have a dog ( a mix between a bassett hound and a mixed race). The family live in a very beautiful location emersed in the mountains. This family are clients of ours. They hosted an au-pair from Estonia who was very happy there. She completed her contract and stayed with the family for 2 years.

Click on the thumbnails to see larger images of the family

  

Letter from previous candidate

Dear Potential Nanny,


Initially I went to work for the Bernardi family for 6 months and finally I stayed with them for two years (April 2008 until May 2010).

I started to be Arturo`s Nanny when he was 14 months old, it meant he was just learning to walk and talk and needed extra care and attention like all children at that age. At the same time it was a very interesting period for me because he was growing and my work duties were changing according to his development, I do not remember boring days. Arturo`s parents prepared me to work independantly with their son. Part of my duties was also to help his mother do the groceries and clean the house.

I have always loved good food and I was very happy that the food was a very important part of Bernardi family life. I have never had a real need for cooking but in Italy it became a natural habit and I enjoyed cooking fresh food for Arturo every day.

 

I was very lucky to be a Nanny for a child like Arturo. I think we started to get along very quickly. I do not have children but if I could choose a son Arturo would be perfect! He was so alive, positive and smart. There were so many moments when we had so much fun (at least I did) that I could not believe I am even getting paid for all of that laughing, singing, dancing, swinging, playing on the beach, going to the pools, eating ice cream etc. If Arturo was not happy there was a reason he was hungry, tired, sick or missing his parents.

 

Thanks to Arturo my Italian language got better and better because we were learning new words together. I was an absolute beginner in Italian when I started to work as a Nanny but in the end I could easily have my everyday conversations in Italian and not to worry of carrying a dictionary with me. I am very grateful for Arturo`s parents and grandparents that they were so patient with my Italian and always helpful to explain some things again and again and again.

The family is living in Merano which is a very beautiful town. It is culturally diverse because there are
60 % of Austrians and 40 % of Italians therefore German and Italian are spoken languages. The town is surrounded by mountains and there are many, many walkways (artificial and wild) to enjoy the natural environment.

The family also has a house on the Island of Elba in Tuscany. I prefer to live by the sea therefore the life on Elba was a paradise for me. There are beautiful and diverse beaches, amazing nature, friendly people and delicious Tuscan food. I have been there several times and it was my privilege to work there with Arturo. The family liked to travel a lot, I have been with them to Bologna, Sicily, different parts of Tuscany and also to London.

Arturo`s parents took care of me very well and I am very grateful for all the experiences. I think I can say that I was quite close to the family, we are still keeping in touch and it is always pleasure to hear from them. I wish them all the best from my heart.


Best wishes


Evelin D`Augello
J
15/01/2012

totalnannies.com privacy policy comments disclaimer last updated 24/10/2013 06:58:27   .

Tel:+44 (0)20 85423067. Fax:+44 (0)207 1529598